top of page
  • Writer's pictureJefferson Weaver

Early Voting Underway

Updated: Oct 27, 2022


Early polls opened today for the Nov. 8 election.

Five early polls are open. Any registered voter may cast a ballot at any one stop poll in the county, regardless of where the voter is registered. People who are not registered to vote may do so at one stop sites and cast a provisional ballot, but registration will not be allowed on Election Day.

For the first time, polls will be open on a Sunday for this year’s elections. Hours for all one stop locations are Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. until 7:30 p.m.; Sunday, Oct. 23, 1-5 p.m., and Saturday, Nov. 5, 8 a.m. until 3 p.m.

No identification is required for registered voters. Some voters were reportedly standing in line when the doors opened this morning.

The one stop locations for Columbus County are:

County Board of Elections Office, 2586 James B. White Highway North, Bldg. B, Whiteville (former BB&T Call Center)

Chadbourn Municipal Annex, 208 First Ave., Chadbourn

Ransom Event Center, 2696 Gen. Howe Highway (N.C. 11), Riegelwood.

Tabor City Courthouse, 110-111 Fourth St., Tabor City

Fair Bluff Fire and Rescue Building, 152 Main St., Fair Bluff

Candidates on local ballots include: County commissioner

District 1

Ricky Bullard

Barbara Featherston

District 7

Scott Floyd

Edward Squires


Jody Greene

Jason Soles

District Attorney

Jon David (unopposed)

Clerk of Superior Court

Jess Hill (unopposed)

Soil and Water Conservation Supervisor

Frank Galloway

James Malpass

County Schools

District 02

Ronnie Strickland

Timothy Lance

District 03

Irvin Enzor

Frankye Boone

Jerome McMillian (withdrew from race)

District 04

Chris Worley

Wanda Brooks

Whiteville City Schools

At Large

Ronald Fisher

Ernest Gaskins

Elgin Collier

Whiteville City Schools District 01

Anna Hall Richardson

Phyllis Haynes

Whiteville City Schools District 02

David flowers and Jason Elleby

U.S. Senate

Ted Budd

Shannon Bray

Cherie Beasley

House of Representatives

Charles Vinson Graham

David Rouzer

N.C. Senate District 08

William “Bill” Rabon (unopposed)

N.C. House of Representatives District 046

Brenden Jones (unopposed)

N.C. District Court Judge Seat 01

Will Callihan (unopposed)

N.C. District Court Judge Seat 02 (Brunswick)

Quinton McGee

Bryan David Wilson

N.C. District Court Judge Seat 07 (Brunswick)

Sarah McPherson

N.C. Supreme Court Justice Seat 05

Sam Ervin IV

Curtis Hudson Allen III

N.C. Supreme Court Justice Seat 03

Richard Dietz

Lucy inman

N.C. Court of Appeals Seat 08

Julee Tate Flood

Carolyn Jennings Thompson

N.C. Court of Appeals Seat 09

Brad Andrew Salmon

Donna stroud

N.C. Court of Appeals Seat 10

John Tyson

Gale Murray Adams

N.C. Court of Appeals Seat 11

Darren Jackson

Michael Stading

60 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page